Skip to content

Class of 1965 (Dental Hygiene)


Patricia E. Doyle received the Sunstar/RDH Award of Distinction at the RDH Under One Roof meeting on Aug. 2 in Las Vegas. Doyle, one of eight national recipients to be honored by Sunstar Americas, Inc., was recognized for her years of community service and contributions to oral health care for persons with psychiatric disorders. In 2010, she left Harborview Medical Center, Mental Health Services, where she had volunteered for 29 years. Doyle, who is a Fellow of the Academy of Dentistry for Persons with Disabilities, works in private practice with her brother, Dr. T. Michael Doyle. Together, the two dental professionals have provided years of oral health care for people with chronic mental illnesses. Doyle is a member of the affiliate faculty in the UW Department of Oral Medicine and is a guest lecturer in the Dental Education in Care of Persons with Disabilities (DECOD) program. She is also a member of the UW Oral Health Collaborative, a group that provides outreach and education to underserved populations. (Fall 2012)


The UW Dental Hygiene Class of 1965 celebrated its 50th anniversary with a luncheon at Horizon House on Aug. 7.  Eleven of the class’s 18 members were in attendance, including two from California and one from Wyoming.  Guests included  the dental hygienist daughter of one classmate and Patty Doyle’s mother, who resides at Horizon House. The day began with seven classmates taking a tour of the School of Dentistry led by Randy Newquist, Director of Dental Alumni Services, and his colleague Maria Tran. Three classmates also visited  Dr. Martha H. Fales, who was Chair of Dental Hygiene in 1965. The class was a tight knit-group, this being our eighth reunion since graduation. The dental hygiene program was like a private girls school, not only preparing students for a career but for life. The class of 1965 shared personal and professional successes and looks forward to the next reunion.

Class of 1965 Hygiene
Dental Hygiene alums gathered at Dean Hickey’s bust before touring the School on Aug. 7: (from left) Arlee Grow Volz, Patricia Merrin Teltoft, Patricia Doyle, Julie McWhorter Dodson, Sandy Blessing Nimmer, Caren Strange Toney and Pauline Potter Phillips.