Skip to content

Class of 1963 (Periodontics)


Dr. Roy C. Page, former Associate Dean for Research and Director of the Regional Clinical Dental Research Center at the School of Dentistry, received the 2011 Distinguished Scientist Award from the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP). Dr. Page, who has been president of both the International and American Associations of Dental Research, received the award for his contributions to the basic and clinical science of periodontology. A practicing periodontologist for 36 years and Perio faculty member, he was editor-in-chief of the Journal of Periodontal Research from 1984 to 1999, and has also served on several journal editorial boards. His honors include the Gies Award, the AAP’s Fellowship Award and Special Citation, and the American Dental Association’s Norton B. Ross Award for Clinical Research. He was chosen as Washington Dental Service Distinguished Professor of Dentistry at the UW in 2000, and that year was also named the School of Dentistry’s Distinguished Alumnus. (Fall 2012)